Illinois State Poetry Society 2024 Contest Winners

Contest Category: Holloway Free Verse Award Sponsor: Donna Pucciani in memory of Glenna Holloway Judge: Diane Taylor, AL

First Place	Janice Freytag	Souderton	PA	Leveling the Water	
-------------	----------------	-----------	----	--------------------	--

Second Place Jamie Wendt Chicago IL Aqua (after Pharaoh's daughter)

Third Place Pauline Kochanski Skokie IL dragon fly & friends

Honorable Mention #1 Terry Jude Miller Richmond TX
Honorable Mention #2 Johanna Haas Murphysboro IL
Honorable Mention #3 Mike Wahl Athens AL

V. Kimball Barney

Honorable Mention #3

Contest Category: Smile Award

Sponsor: Ida Kotyuk Judge: Michael Spears, UT

First Place Carole Croll Royersford PA Clean Sweep Second Place Grace Diane Jessen Glenwood UT Last Request Third Place Paul Buchheit Chicago ΙL Smile For Me Honorable Mention #1 Michael Orlock Lisle IL Honorable Mention #2 John Crawford Arkadelphia AR Honorable Mention #3 Dens Feehan Mesquite NV

Contest Category: Any Subject/Any Form Award Sponsor: Marjorie Rissmann Judge: Diane Taylor, AL

First Place Barbara Blanks Garland ΤX Oh, Baby, It's Cold Out There Second Place **Emory Jones** Iuka MS THE THING ABOUT QUILTS Third Place Amy Wray Irish Lakewood CO **Hummingbird Jazz** Honorable Mention #1 Gail Denham Sunriver OR Honorable Mention #2 Lorraine Jeffrey Orem UT

Contest Category: Wilda Morris Award Sponsor: Bakul Banerjee Judge: Amelia Martens, KY

UT

First Place	Johanna Haas	Murphysboro	IL	Absent Hills
Second Place	Barbara Blanks	Garland	TX	Nature's First Gold is Gray
Third Place	Kathryn Haydon	Lake Bluff	IL	Along I-55 South to Saint Louis
Honorable Mention #1	Cynthia Gallaher	Chicago	IL	
Honorable Mention #2	Kathleen Cotton	Anna	IL	
Honorable Mention #3	Laura Bridges	Hot Springs	AR	

Kaysville

Contest Category: Dreams Award Sponsor: Susan T. Moss Judge: Elise Ball. TN

First Place	Kathleen Cotton	Anna	IL	A Disappearing Dream
Second Place	Paul Buchheit	Chicago	IL	Nightmare
Third Place	Cynthia Gallaher	Chicago	IL	Good Dreams of a Septuagenarian
Honorable Mention #1	Tanya R. Whitney	Sorrento	LA	
Honorable Mention #2	Camille Balla	Lisle	IL	
Honorable Mention #3	Brian D. Pondenis	Charleston	Ш	

Contest Category: ISPS Free Verse Award Sponsor: ISPS Board Judge: Pat Laster, AR

First Place	Jocelyn Ajami	Chicago	IL	The Poet of <i>Ishbiiyya</i>
-------------	---------------	---------	----	------------------------------

Second Place Crystie Cook Sandy UT Life Under the Shadow of Herons

Third Place Peter Witt College Station TX Waterlily Whispers

Honorable Mention #1 Carol Alfus Woodstock IL
Honorable Mention #2 Cathy Moran Little Rock AR
Honorable Mention #3 Maggie Van Dyke Brookfield IL

Contest Category: ISPS Formal Verse Award Sponsor: ISPS Board Judge: Barbara Blank, TX

First Place	John McPherson	Searcy	AR	On the Death Of A Single Waxwing
-------------	----------------	--------	----	----------------------------------

Second Place Lynda La Rocca Salida CO The Night Watch
Third Place Jerri Hardesty Brierfield AL The Recital

Honorable Mention #1 Crystie Cook Sandy UT
Honorable Mention #2 Gail Denham Sunriver OR

Honorable Mention #3 Candace Armstrong Murphysboro IL

Contest Category: ISPS Traditional Haiku Award Sponsor: ISPS Board Judge: Martha Balph, UT

First Place	Janice Freytag	Souderton	PA	drops of blood on snow
Second Place	Lynda La Rocca	Salida	CO	wild horses gallop

Third Place Camille Balla Lisle IL SNOW ON PALM SUNDAY

Honorable Mention #1 Maggie Van Dyke Brookfield IL
Honorable Mention #2 Jim Wilkerson Decatur IL
Honorable Mention #3 Grace Diane Jessen Glenwood UT

Contest Category: ISPS Modern Haiku Award Sponsor: ISPS Board Judge: Elaine Person, FL

First Place Edward Huddleston Baxley GA crumbling church Second Place Dennis Patton Alexander AR arching backs

Third Place Emory Jones luka MS Squawks coming from above

Honorable Mention #1 Jocelyn Ajami Chicago IL
Honorable Mention #2 John O'Connor Winnetka IL
Honorable Mention #3 Terry Jude Miller Richmond TX

First Place

Second Place

Contest Category: Alan Harris Award Sponsor: Mary Beth Bretzlauf Judge: Julie Cummings, CO

IL

Embedded

Scammed

Brian D. Pondenis Charleston IL Years Ago

Decatur

Third Place Grace Diane Jessen Glenwood UT

Honorable Mention #1 Amy Wray Irish Lakewood CO

Honorable Mention #2 Sandra McGarry Fort Collins CO

Jim Wilkerson

Honorable Mention #3 Emory Jones Iuka MS

Contest Category: Sheila Kirscher Award

Sponsor: Mary Beth Bretzlauf Judge: Budd Mahan, TX

First P	lace	Lorraine Jeffrey	Orem	UT	Finding You Way Home
Secon	d Place	Jim Wilkerson	Decatur	IL	Goodbye to Summer Rains
Third	Place	Denis Feehan	Mesquite	NV	Traveling with Trixie
Honor	able Mention #1	Victor Klimoski	Saint Paul	MN	
Honor	able Mention #2	Maggie Van Dyke	Brookfield	IL	

Lisle

Michael Orlock

Honorable Mention #3

Contest Category: Triolet Award
Sponsor: Highland Park Poetry Judge: Stephen George, PA

IL

First Place	Dennis Patton	Alexander	AR	Noir Movie Star
Second Place	Sara Gipson	Scott	AR	When Grass Danced
Third Place	Barbara Blanks	Garland	TX	As the Sun Settles Down
Honorable Mention #1	Crystie Cook	Sandy	UT	
Honorable Mention #2	Paul Buchheit	Chicago	IL	
Honorable Mention #3	Mike Wahl	Athens	AL	

Contest Category: Nair Award Sponsor: Lakshmy Nair Judge: Pat Taylor, AR

First Place	Terry Jude Miller	Richmond	TX	Raking a Poem
Second Place	Janice Freytag Kathryn	Souderton	PA	Billboards
Third Place	Schmeiser	Fairview	NC	Not My Story
Honorable Mention #1	Lynda La Rocca	Salida	CO	
Honorable Mention #2	Barbara Blanks	Garland	TX	
Honorable Mention #3	Daniel Moreschi	West Glamo	organ. V	VALES

Contest Category: Ekphrastic Poetry Award Sponsor: Lennart Lundh Judge: Sheila Moore, TX

First Place	Sheila Elliott	Oak Park	IL	What Every Child Wants
Second Place	Barbara Funke	St. George	UT	Legacy: Generations of Work
Third Place	Daniel Moreschi	West Glamorgan. WAL	ES.	Black Burns Red
Honorable Mention #1	Victor Klimoski	Saint Paul	MN	
Honorable Mention #2	Barbara Blanks	Garland	TX	
Honorable Mention #3	Marc Davidson	Ormond Beach	FL	

Contest Category: Wombat Award Sponsor: Gail Denham in memory of Jane West of the Wombat Writers Group Judge: Russell Strauss, TN

First Place	Lynda La Rocca	Salida	CO	When God Takes a Vacation
Second Place	John Crawford	Arkadelphia	AR	Ode to Spam
Third Place	Laura Bridges	Hot Springs	AR	Online Dating
Honorable Mention #1	Jill Spealman	Glen Ellyn	IL	
Honorable Mention #2	Jennifer Dotson Elizabeth Stanley-	Highland Park	IL	
Honorable Mention #3	King	Elgin	IL	