

2023 Illinois State Poetry Society Contest Winners

Category #1: Love Award Sponsored by: ISPS Lisle Chapter (in memory Glenna Holloway, Nancy Carrigan, Michael Galati) Subject: Love Form: Any Judge: Amelia Martens

1st Place: Marianne Peel, "Let Tenderness Come"
2nd Place: Julie Schwerin, "Unshelled"
3rd Place: Bakul Banerjee, "Synapses Are Dying"
HM #1: Maureen Tolman Flannery, "Aging Together Off the Grid"
HM #2: Jamie Wendt, "Beach Hazard"
HM #3: Wilda Morris, "Now that I have a fractured foot"

Category #2: House Award Sponsored by: Ida Kotyuk Subject: A house Form: Any Judge: Pat Taylor

1st Place: Camille Balla, "A Day at the Cenacle Retreat House"
2nd Place: Gail Denham, ""No Curtains"
3rd Place: Barbara Blanks, "In Residence"
HM #1: Judith Galati, "Going Home"
HM #2: Mary Jo Balisteri, "Returning"
HM #3: Marianne Peel, "Beneath the Surface in a Kentucky Kitchen"

Category #3: Viator Award

Sponsored by: Michael Escoubas (in memory of Kathleen A. Rippey, his mother-in-law) Subject: Any Form: Viator Judge: Russell Strauss

1st Place: John McPherson, "My Vile Companion"
2nd Place: Bakul Banerjee, "The Paper Boat"
3rd Place: Kathy Lohrum Cotton, "Drought"
HM #1: Elizabeth King, "The Hickory Grove"
HM #2: Judith Galati, "Breaking Silence"
HM #3: Lorraine Jeffrey, "Because of her"

Category #4: ISPS Free Verse Award Sponsored by: ISPS Board in honor of Past President Susan Moss

Subject: Any. Form: Free Verse Judge: John Hinton

1st Place: Anita Dee, "The View Through a Frosted Pane"
2nd Place: Amy Wray Irish, "Ipkbibble"
3rd Place: Terry Jude Miller, "lefty"
HM #1: Allison Joseph, "Homage to My Breasts"
HM #2: Jill Spealman, "Origami in April"
HM #3: Christopher Kuhl, "THE GIFT"

Category #5: ISPS Formal Verse Award. Sponsored by: ISPS Board in honor of Past Vice President Jim Lambert

Subject: Any. Form: Any Set Form Judge: Bruce Hoffsommer

1st Place: Rita Moritz, "Sarah Beth's Guitar"
2nd Place: V Kimball Barney, "Adoring Books"
3rd Place: Lynda LaRocca, "Despite Everything"
HM #1: Grace Diane Jessen, "The Man for his Time"
HM #2: Maya Dombroskie, "Naivete: A Haibun
HM #3: Nancy L. Cook, "One Year to the Day"

Category #6: Traditional Haiku Award Sponsored by: ISPS Subject: Any. Form: Traditional 5-7-5 haiku Judge: Gail Denham

1st Place: Christian Shute, "startled starlings fly" 2nd Place: Lynda LaRocca, "cherry blossom rain" 3rd Place: Mark Hammerschick, "In Situ" (frozen Hokkaido) HM #1: Dennis Maulsby, "lilac dress for spring" HM #2: Mary Jo Balisteri, "fields of poppies" HM #3: Janice Doppler, "summer afternoon…"

Category #7: Modern Haiku AwardSponsored by: ISPSSubject: AnyForm: Modern HaikuJudge: Jon Sebba

1st Place: Kathryn Haydon, four bows brushing strings
2nd Place: Ravi Kiran, "good prognosis"
3rd Place: Terry Jude Miller, "three inch pencil"
HM #1: Janice Doppler, "whispering wind"
HM #2: Julie Schwerin, "all her children grown…"
HM #3: Dennis Maulsby, "the courting storm"

Category #8: Southern Chapter Award Sponsored by: ISPS Southern Chapter Subject: Pets. Form: Any Judge: Diane Taylor Reeves

1st Place: Nick Sweet, "Moore, Oklahoma, 2013"
2nd Place: Mike Orlock, "Night Sounds"
3rd Place: Mackenzie Mann, "Chronicles of a Courageous Canine: A Tail of Heroism"
HM #1: Kathy Lohrum Cotton, "I Won't Tell You About the Cat"
HM #2: Pamela Hatch, "Unbridled Wind"
HM #3: Jill Charles, "Familiar Scent"

Category #9: Humor Award Sponsored by Harold & Marie Asner Subject: Humor Form: Rhyme Judge: Elaine Person

1st Place: Nick Sweet, "Ruse de Cezanne"
2nd Place: Jerri Hardesty, "Thanks to Hank"
3rd Place: Allison Joseph, "Retail Therapy"
HM #1: V Kimball Barney, "The Pastor's Choice"
HM #2: Jim Wilkerson, "A Sound in the Morning"
HM #3: Wilda Morris, "Barbeque"

Category #10: Generosity Award

Sponsored by: Jocelyn Ajami (in memory of David Nekimken) Subject: Generosity. Form: Any Judge: Katie Zale

1st Place: Sheila Elliott, "Generosity"
2nd Place: Marianne Peel, "The Offering"
3rd Place: Michael Owens "Watching Peace Among Nations"
HM #1: Paul Buchheit, "The Generous Lion: A Sonnet"
HM #2: Nick Sweet, "Golden Rulers"
HM #3: Marie Asner: "The Octet"

Category #11: Jack Griffis Edwards Award Sponsored by: the late Idella Pearl Edwards Subject: I Miss You Form: Rhyme (20-line limit) Judge: Barbara Blanks

1st Place: Christine Henderson, "Memory of Love"
2nd Place: V Kimball Barney: "Without You"
3rd Place: Sara Gipson, "Left Behind"
HM #1: Kathy Lohrum Cotton, "Dancing With You"
HM #2:Nick Sweet, "Rain on the Porch"
HM #3: Nancy L. Cook, "Morning"

Category #12: Form Challenge Award Subject: Any Form: Rimas Dissolutas

Sponsored by: Highland Park Poetry Judge: Budd Mahan

1st Place: Barbara Blanks, "Cyrus Avery, Father of Route 66"
2nd Place: Crystie Cook, "Sparrows in the Straw"
3rd Place: Wilda Morris, "That Kind"
HM #1: Kim Reed, "Can You Still See Gaza Alight?"
HM #2: Candace Armstrong, "New Covenant of Faith"
HM #3: Rita Moritz, "In Praise of Peace"

Category #13: Ekphrastic Prose Poem Award Sponsored by: Lennart Lundh Subject: Ekphrastic Form: Prose Judge: Patricia Laster

1st Place: Marianne Peel, "Bebe in Bramble"
2nd Place: Sara Gipson, "Single Leaf Trapped in Ice"
3rd Place: Sandra McGarry, "of all the blue"
HM #1:John McPherson, Prometheus On Horseback"
HM #2: Amy Wray Irish, "Fallen Feather"
HM #3: Stephen Schwei, "Dear Universe"

Category #14: Make Me Laugh AwardSponsored by: Nancy LaChanceSubject: Any Form: Rimas DissolutasJudge: Nancy LaChance

1st Place: John McPherson, "Grandma's Colic-Frolic"
2nd Place: Trina Lee, "Where – O – Where"
3rd Place: Maureen Tolman Flannery, "Low Maintenance Morning"
HM #1: Paul Buchheit, "Super Fan"
HM #2: Mike Orlock, "Absurdly Adverbly Verbatim"
HM #3: Beverly Stanislawski, " Popeye's Power"

Thank you again to all the judges, and the winning poets for making this contest a great success!

Mary Beth Bretzlauf Contest Chair